Press Releases Home
The original item was published from 11/19/2020 9:07:38 PM to 1/20/2021 12:00:01 AM.

Press Releases

Perris Station

Posted on: November 19, 2020

[ARCHIVED] Click or Ticket Enforcement Campaign

cam-02

RIVERSIDE COUNTY SHERIFF’S DEPARTMENT

Sheriff Chad Bianco

Press Release:Click or Ticket Enforcement Campaign
Station Area:Perris
Written Date:November 19, 2020Time:11:30 AM
Incident Date:November 16-29, 2020Time:N/A
Incident Location:The City of Perris
Reporting Officer:Sergeant Marshall 
File Number(s):N/A


Details:

Californians Encouraged to Buckle Up on Every Trip

Nov. 16-29 is Click it or Ticket Seat Belt Enforcement Campaign

Perris, Calif. – Throughout the month of November, the Riverside County Sheriff’s Department Perris Station is joining agencies across the country promoting the importance of wearing a seat belt in the car and keeping children safe by making sure they are properly restrained.

This year’s Click it or Ticket seat belt enforcement campaign is from Nov. 16-29. During this time, the Riverside County Sheriff’s Department Perris Station will have additional  deputies on patrol looking for drivers and passengers who are not wearing a seat belt. This includes drivers who do not properly secure children in child safety seats.

While the seat belt use rate in California was 96% last year, there has been a noted drop in seat belt use by back seat passengers. A recent report by the Governors Highway Safety Association (GHSA) found only 76% of rear seat passengers wore seat belts.

“Wearing a seat belt is your best defense on the road,” Sergeant Hibbler said. “It only takes a few seconds and helps keep you and your family safe.”

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), seat belts saved nearly 15,000 lives of people ages five and older in 2017.

The fine for a seat belt violation is $162. California law requires a child be properly secured in a safety seat in the second row of a vehicle, when available, until they are at least 8 years of age. Children under the age of 2 must ride rear-facing or until they reach 40 pounds or 40 inches in height.

California has a primary seat belt law, which allows law enforcement officers to ticket someone for not wearing a seat belt without committing another traffic violation.

Funding for this program was provided by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

For media inquiries regarding this incident please contact the Media Information Bureau.


OTS Traffic SafetyDUI Go Safely


Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Perris Station

cam-02

Quality of Life Operation

Posted on: February 23, 2021
cam-02

Felon in Possession of a Firearm

Posted on: February 21, 2021
cam-02

Lewd Acts with a Child

Posted on: February 19, 2021
cam-02

Felony Reckless Evading

Posted on: February 14, 2021
cam-02

Fatal Traffic Collision

Posted on: February 7, 2021
cam-02

Deputy Involved Shooting

Posted on: January 27, 2021
cam-02

Death Investigation

Posted on: January 25, 2021
cam-02

Homicide

Posted on: January 24, 2021
cam-02

Fatal Traffic Collision

Posted on: January 22, 2021
cam-02

Fatal Traffic Collision

Posted on: January 15, 2021
cam-02

Burglary Investigation Search Warrant

Posted on: January 15, 2021