||Click It or Ticket It Campaign
||La Quinta Police
||05/20/19 – 06/02/19
||Sergeant C. Olsen
La Quinta Police Department issues 81 citations for Seatbelt Violations
The La Quinta Police Department cited 81 drivers for seatbelt violations as part of a larger effort to educate the public on the dangers of driving without seatbelts. Putting on a seatbelt is one of the safest and wisest decisions any driver or passenger can make. Not buckling up can cause you to be thrown out of the vehicle, further risking serious injury or death. In addition, the force of an air bag also poses a significant risk when you are not wearing a seatbelt. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), buckling up in the front seat of a passenger car can reduce the risk of a deadly injury by 45 percent.
Buckling up properly also includes making sure your child is in the correct child safety seat. Here are the requirements under California law:
- Children under two years old, 40 pounds and 40 inches must ride in a rear-facing car seat.
- Children under the age of eight must be secured in a car or booster seat.
- Children who are 8 years old or 4’ 9” may be secured by a booster seat, but at minimum must be secured by a safety belt.
Click It or Ticket Enforcement Campaign Starts May 20
La Quinta, Calif. – From May 20 to June 2, the La Quinta Police Department will have additional officers on patrol looking for drivers and passengers who are not buckled up, including drivers who do not secure children in child safety seats. The enforcement effort is part of the national Click It or Ticket campaign focused on increasing seat belt use.
“Seat belts have proven time and time again to be life-savers,” said Deputy Knight. “Buckling up should be second nature.”
At 96.2%, California has one of the highest seat belt use rates in the nation. However, 532 people killed in crashes statewide last year were not wearing a seat belt.
“Putting on a seat belt takes a few seconds and is your best protection in a crash,” said Deputy Knight. “We want everyone to be as safe as possible when driving or riding in a car and wearing a seat belt is the easiest way to do that.”
In California, the fine for a seat belt violation is $162, and $490 for failing to secure a child in the proper safety seat. Under California law, children under two years old, 40 pounds and 40 inches are required be in a rear-facing car seat. Children under the age of eight must be secured in a car or booster seat.
California has a primary seat belt law, which allows law enforcement officers to ticket someone for not wearing a seat belt without committing another traffic violation.
Funding for Click It or Ticket enforcement efforts are provided by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.