home contact us who to call faqs site map
  
Riverside County (Opens in New Window)
Press Release: Distracted Driving Awareness Month
Agency: Moreno Valley Police
Station Area: Moreno Valley
Written Date: March 29, 2019 Time: 5:25 PM
Incident Date: April, 2019 Time: Various
Incident Location: Multiple locations in the City of Moreno Valley 
Reporting Officer: Sergeant Brian De Marco
File Number(s): Numerous
Written Date: May 02, 2019 Time: 2:13 p.m.

Moreno Valley Police Department issued 132 Citations for Distracted Driving
Enforcement Effort Held During Distracted Driving Awareness Month

Moreno Valley, Calif. – Moreno Valley Police Department cited 132 drivers for violating California’s hands-free cell phone law as part of a larger effort to educate the public on the dangers of distracted driving.

“April is Distracted Driving Awareness Month, and it is important for drivers to understand the huge risks they take using their cell phones behind the wheel,” Moreno Valley Police Department’s Sergeant Brian De Marco says, “It’s careless, dangerous and illegal. Drivers should keep their eyes on the road, not their phone.”

Under the most recent cell phone law that went into effect in 2017, drivers are prohibited from having a phone in their hand for any reason and can only use their phone in a hands-free manner. The phones must be mounted on the dashboard, windshield or center console, and can only be touched once with the swipe or tap of a finger to activate or deactivate a function. First-time offenders face a $162 fine Opens in New Window.

A 2018 observational survey Opens in New Window by the California Office of Traffic Safety (OTS) on driver cell phone use found about 4.5 percent of drivers are still using their cell phone, and more often to perform a function on the phone, versus talking.

“When drivers look down at their phone to read or sent a text, check GPS or scroll through social media, they are taking their eyes off the road, which is incredibly dangerous,” Moreno Valley Police Department Sergeant De Marco says, “There is a reason it is against the law.”

If you need to make a call or text someone, Moreno Valley Police Department suggests pulling over and parking at a safe location. If you are unable to resist the urge and stay off the phone while driving, put your phone in a place you can’t reach, like the backseat or trunk.

In addition to phones, other serious distractions include eating, grooming, reaching for fallen objects, fiddling with the radio or console controls and changing clothes. Moreno Valley Police Department encourages everyone to avoid distractions and go safely.

Funding for distracted driving enforcement is provided by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

California Office of Traffic Safety   National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
Funding for this operation is provided by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

 

Moreno Valley Police Department challenges drivers to ‘silence’ the distraction
April is Distracted Driving Awareness Month

Moreno Valley Calif. – April is National Distracted Driving Awareness Month and the Moreno Valley Police Department will be joining law enforcement agencies statewide stopping drivers who violate California’s hands-free cell phone law.

On numerous dates in the month of April, the Moreno Valley Police Department will have additional officers on patrol looking specifically for drivers on their phones.

Last year, the Moreno Valley Police Department issued 934 citations to drivers texting, calling or performing another function on their phone. Distracted driving is dangerous, especially when it involves a cell phone. According to preliminary data from the California Highway Patrol (CHP), 66 people were killed and more than 6,500 injured in 2017 from distracted driving-related crashes.
A 2018 observational survey Opens in New Window by the California Office of Traffic Safety (OTS) on driver cell phone use found about 4.5 percent of drivers are still using their cell phone illegally, a nearly 27 percent increase from 2016.

Under the most recent cell phone law that went into effect in 2017, drivers are prohibited from having a phone in their hand for any reason and can only use their phone in a hands-free manner. The phones must be mounted on the dashboard, windshield or center console, and can only be touched once with the swipe or tap of a finger to activate or deactivate a function. First-time offenders face a $162 fine Opens in New Window.

If you need to make a call or text someone, pull over and park at a safe location. Struggling to stay off the phone while driving? Put your phone in a place you can’t reach, like the backseat or trunk. Funding for distracted driving enforcement operations are provided by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

California Office of Traffic Safety   National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
Funding for this operation is provided by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

# # #

  • The Riverside County Sheriff's Department is seeking applicants for Deputy Sheriff, Deputy Sheriff Trainee, Correctional Deputy, Sheriff's 911 Communications Officer, and other employment opportunities such as clerical and support positions. If you are interested in a career with us, please apply at www.joinrsd.org or call 1-888-Join-RSD.
Twitter GovDelivery Email Notification Click to Subscribe Nixle - Register to receive Alerts Facebook
We Are Hiring!
 

Deputy Sheriff and Deputy Sheriff Trainee, Correctional Deputy, Sheriff's 911
Dispatch Officer, and other support positions.

Now Hiring

Apply at www.joinrsd.org
or call 1-888-Join-RSD

Checkpoints & Enforcement
Traffic Enforcement
Traffic Safety

Designated Driver Mobile App

Riverside Sheriff's Stations

Riverside County Sheriff Station Areas
Law Enforcement Agencies