||Distracted Driver Awareness Month
||Jurupa Valley Police
||April 9, 2019
||The City of Jurupa Valley
||Sergeant Raemie Wood
The Jurupa Valley Police Department challenges drivers to ‘silence’ the distraction
April is Distracted Driving Awareness Month
Jurupa Valley, Calif. – April is National Distracted Driving Awareness Month and The Jurupa Valley Police Department will be joining law enforcement agencies statewide stopping drivers who violate California’s hands-free cell phone law.
On numerous dates during the month of April, The Jurupa Valley Police Department will have additional officers on patrol looking specifically for drivers on their phones.
Last year, The Jurupa Valley Department issued over 400 citations to drivers texting, calling or performing another function on their phone. Distracted driving is dangerous, especially when it involves a cell phone. According to preliminary data from the California Highway Patrol (CHP), 66 people were killed and more than 6,500 injured in 2017 from distracted driving-related crashes.
“Cell phones remain one of the top distractions for drivers,” Jurupa Valley Police Department Sergeant Wood. “Like any bad habit, it can be hard to break, but this habit can have life-altering consequences.”
A 2018 observational survey by the California Office of Traffic Safety (OTS) on driver cell phone use found about 4.5 percent of drivers are still using their cell phone illegally, a nearly 27 percent increase from 2016.
“That text or phone call will never be worth losing a life over,” Jurupa Valley Police Department Sergeant Wood. “That is why curbing distracted driving is high on our priority list.”
Under the most recent cell phone law that went into effect in 2017, drivers are prohibited from having a phone in their hand for any reason and can only use their phone in a hands-free manner. The phones must be mounted on the dashboard, windshield or center console, and can only be touched once with the swipe or tap of a finger to activate or deactivate a function. First-time offenders face a $162 fine.
If you need to make a call or text someone, pull over and park at a safe location. Struggling to stay off the phone while driving? Put your phone in a place you can’t reach, like the backseat or trunk.
Funding for distracted driving enforcement operations are provided by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety