home contact us who to call faqs site map
Riverside County (Opens in New Window)

History of the Sheriff's Department

Chad Bianco
Chad Bianco
14th Sheriff
4th Sheriff-Coroner
2019 - Current

Riverside County was created from portions of San Bernardino and San Diego Counties on May 9, 1893. In the early history of the County, the Sheriff's Office was a one-person operation.

Today the Sheriff is responsible for 7,300 square miles, spreading over 200 miles in length, and embracing approximately 50 miles in width. This territory constitutes the fourth largest County in the State of California. Vast changes have occurred in Riverside County since its inception. The population, having increased from 13,745 in 1893, to more than 2.4 million in 2019, ranks it fourth in population among California's counties.

The Riverside County Sheriff's Department is now the second-largest Sheriff's Department in California, with a staff of over 3,600 dedicated men and women.

Past Sheriffs

Stan Sniff Bob Doyle Larry D. Smith
Stan Sniff
13th Sheriff
3rd Sheriff-Coroner
2007 - 2019
Bob Doyle
12th Sheriff
2nd Sheriff-Coroner
2002 - 2007
Larry D. Smith
11th Sheriff
1st Sheriff-Coroner
1994 - 2002
Cois M. Byrd Bernard J. Clark Joe Warren Rice
Cois M. Byrd
10th Sheriff
1986 - 1994
Bernard J. Clark
9th Sheriff
1963 - 1986
Joe Warren Rice
8th Sheriff
1952 - 1963
Carl F. Rayburn Bernard J. Clark Joe Warren Rice
Carl F. Rayburn
7th Sheriff
1931 - 1952
Clemens A. Sweeters
6th Sheriff
1924 - 1931
Sam B. Ryan
5th Sheriff
1923 - 1924
Carl F. Rayburn Bernard J. Clark Joe Warren Rice
Frank P. Wilson
4th Sheriff
1907 - 1923
P. M. Coburn
3rd Sheriff
1899 - 1907
W. B. Johnson
2nd Sheriff
1895 - 1899
  Fred Swope  
  Fred Swope
1st Sheriff
1893 - 1895


Twitter GovDelivery Email Notification Click to Subscribe Nixle - Register to receive Alerts Facebook
Sheriff's Department
Community Outreach
Sheriff's Retirees
Riverside Sheriff's Stations

Riverside County Sheriff Station Areas
Law Enforcement Agencies

Non-Emergency Numbers
All 9-1-1 and non-emergency numbers support TTY communications.
Who to call in Riverside County
 Toll Free: 800-950-2444
West: 951-776-1099
Central: 951-776-1099
East - Coachella: 760-836-3215
East - Blythe: 760-921-7900
Moreno Valley: 951-247-8700
Temecula: 951-696-4357
Emergency - Dial 911